NEVER BLEND IN

 

ONE STRUGGLE - STICK TOGETHER

My story is just one of many, & my pain is small, compared to many people’s suffering from health problems & government & media demonization of people with disabilities.

I learned a lot during some years in the ‘care’ system following family break-up, particularly after being robbed of my 11-Plus pass entitlement to grammar school by a psychiatrist working for Social Services; his skewed opinion meant that I had to start at the bottom of a Secondary Modern school, & go up in steps. Even though it was clear from week one that the top stream would be appropriate, I had to go up in steps, so it took over a year to reach the ‘A’ stream. There was some emotional & sexual abuse in the children’s home, but it wasn’t a hell-hole like many kids had to endure. In 4th year, I was fostered, & got a scholarship…

View original post 704 more words

Leave a Reply

